Weather

Tropical Cyclone Warning

29 April 2017 01:45 CST

Australian Government Bureau of Meteorology
Northern Territory
Tropical Cyclone Warning Centre

Media: The Standard Emergency Warning Signal should NOT be used with this
warning.

TOP PRIORITY FOR IMMEDIATE BROADCAST

TROPICAL CYCLONE WARNING

TROPICAL CYCLONE ADVICE NUMBER 11
Issued at 1:45 am ACST [12:15 am AWST] on Saturday 29 April 2017


Headline:
Severe Tropical Cyclone Frances continues to move southwest across the western
Timor Sea.

Areas Affected:
Warning zone: Kuri Bay to Kalumburu.

Watch zone: None.

Cancelled zone: None.

Details of Severe Tropical Cyclone Frances at 12:30 am ACST [11:00 pm AWST]:
Intensity: Category 3, sustained winds near the centre of 120 kilometres per
hour with wind gusts to 165 kilometres per hour.
Location: within 85 kilometres of 12.3 degrees South 124.8 degrees East,
estimated to be 300 kilometres northwest of Kalumburu and 355 kilometres north
of Kuri Bay.
Movement: west southwest at 11 kilometres per hour.

Severe Tropical Cyclone Frances is expected to continue moving southwest from
the Timor Sea into the Indian Ocean during Saturday before weakening on Sunday.
The cyclone is expected to remain over water as it moves into the Indian Ocean,
however if it takes a more southerly track peripheral gales may affect the
northwest Kimberley coast during Saturday morning.

Hazards:
GALES with gusts to 110 kilometres per hour may develop in coastal parts
between Kuri Bay and Kalumburu during Saturday morning if Severe Tropical
Cyclone Frances takes a more southerly track.

Tides between Kalumburu and Wyndham are likely to rise above normal high tide
mark with very rough seas and possible flooding of low-lying coastal areas.
Tides between Kuri Bay and Kalumburu are likely to rise above normal high tide
mark with very rough seas.

Recommended Action:
DFES State Emergency Service (SES) advises of the following community alerts:
BLUE ALERT: People between Kuri Bay and Kalumburu need to prepare for cyclonic
weather and organise an emergency kit including first aid kit, torch, portable
radio, spare batteries, food and water.

People needing DFES assistance can call 132 500. In a life threatening
situation call 000.
For more safety tips visit www.dfes.wa.gov.au.

Next Advice:
The next advice will be issued from Perth TCWC by 5:00 am ACST Saturday 29
April [3:30 am AWST Saturday 29 April].

This advice is available on telephone NT-1300 659 211 and WA-1300 659 210

A map showing the track of the cyclone is available at:
http://www.bom.gov.au/cyclone